Portrait Project – Day 35

Posted: March 7, 2011 in Portrait Project
Tags: ,

Bernadette in Cork on Skype

I injured my ankle at footie training this afternoon and was too sore to go out around the streets looking for a portrait subject. However not wanting to miss a day of the project and with the aid of modern technology there is more than one way to skin a cat so to speak (sometimes I really wonder who made up that phrase and were they really looking for different ways to actually skin a cat?!).

I got my sister on skype and took an image off a realtime video. I suppose its a bit of a photographic collaboration as Ber positioned her webcam and then I took the picture. Well thats modern technology for you, the boundaries between what constitutes anything these days are being blurred. And while its not the first picture (or screen grab) I took off skype, it’s the first I took with the specific aim of taking a portrait of someone. Good to know that there are other options out there, and obviously nothing to do with the fact that I can stay in bed and complete my project but I feel a skype portrait session coming on!

 

Leave a Reply

