Portrait Project – Day 1

Posted: February 2, 2011 in Portrait Project
Tags: , , , ,

Meiron – Reggae Musician

Well, a dramatic start to the new 365 portrait project. I headed to work today in 40 degree heat with my camera and a minute by minute plan of my day which included going to a gallery opening, designing a poster, replying to everyone I need to reply to and editing my remaining photos (all 10,000 of them). At approximately 6.45 p.m., around the same time I had myself booked in for an amazing ‘random heat struck guy/girl in the city’ day defining photoshoot I discovered I had left my memory card in the card reader on my desk. About 10 more minutes spent with the sweat dripping down my back hanging around the underground passage at Central Train Station, debating how I could ask someone to pose for a photo using my phone camera and not appear like a serious weirdo, and my perfectly planned day was thrown right out of whack.

But things always happen for a reason, even if sometimes that reason is to piss you right off, and I ended up off schedule in Newtown taking a lovely photo of Meiron as the setting sun reflected against the galvanised cover of the old bakery shop. I’m almost tempted to leave it at that descriptive setting and neglect to mention the part where I stood around for 20 minutes trying to work up the courage to ask someone to pose for a photo and then walked away without asking the subject his name! Luckily Sydney isn’t Germany and he was still there waiting for the bus when I realised! Day 1 and I’ve a long way to go!

Leave a Reply

