Project 365 – 4th Nov 2010 ‘Death’

Posted: November 4, 2010 in Project 365
Tags: , , , , ,

Day 278 – Death and all his friends

I was watching a scene from a soap today where a funeral took place and it just struck me the different types of clothes people wear to commemorate and celebrate their loved ones lives. Black seems to be the obvious choice as the colour of death, the colour of mourning. Add veils and/or dark sunnies and the air of mournfulless is quite aptly conveyed. I did see one character in a creamy suit and of course there is the option to wear bright colours that tell everyone you want to celebrate that the person’s lived, more than be sad they died. I remember Prince Charles, at Princess Diana’s funeral wore a blue suit instead of the traditional black as it was her favourite colour suit on him. I thought that was a nice touch.

However if I was to dictate what I’d like people to wear at my funeral I’d like everyone to wear black. Not just a black top or skirt or shoes but EVERY item of clothing, not even a hint of anything else. Then I’d like everyone to joke about the amount of black they’re wearing! Because in everything, I think you have to laugh!

Quotes of the day:

Oh, for the time when I shall sleep
Without identity.
~Emily Bronte

Gaily I lived as ease and nature taught,
And spent my little life without a thought,
And am amazed that Death, that tyrant grim,
Should think of me, who never thought of him.
~René Francois Regnier

Death is for many of us the gate of hell; but we are inside on the way out, not outside on the way in.  – George Bernard Shaw

And something a little less morbid!

I knew a man who once said, “death smiles at us all; all a man can do is smile back.”  – From the movie Gladiator

Leave a Reply

