Project 365 – 25th Oct 2010

Posted: October 25, 2010 in Photography, Project 365
Tags: , , ,

Day 268 – One of the Crowd

For my last college assignment I was taking street photos in Newtown. One thing I learnt, especially from going through the printing process later was to focus on getting your subject standing out in the picture. Maybe that means moving around or in appropriate cases asking the person could you take a photo, just in a different location. I think before I had been focusing too much on expression and meaning alone but meaning doesn’t mean much if you can’t see the person’s face clearly because the light hasn’t fallen on them.

We had learnt before that the eye sees much more detail, and a greater tonal range, than the camera does. However its really not until I went out, took loads of shots aiming for a specific theme and brought them back to be analysed (ah er criticised more like!) by our lecturer that I really learnt the value of available light. And since I really can’t take criticism I really can’t believe I’m saying that, though its true!

Quote of the day: “According to my principles, every master has his true and certain value. Praise and criticism cannot change any of that. Only the work itself praises and criticizes the master, and therefore I leave to everyone his own value.” – Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

Leave a Reply

