Project 365 – 8th Oct 2010

Posted: October 8, 2010 in Project 365
Tags: , , , , , ,

Day 250 – The Text Message

Do you remember your first mobile? I got mine at a time when pre-paid phones were just coming out, in Ireland, so I’m not showing my age as much! The buzz when a text message came through, one surely of no great importance, in my case probably my brother sending a joke from the other room! Today we can’t live without them, we’d get nowhere or organise nothing without them, and as for catching up with friends, forget it! It’s just a bit funny when I think of the purpose mobiles had then and what different lives we had.

Sometimes now when updating my diary I have to look back at my text messages to see what I was doing on a certain day, my memory is that bad! I wonder does having a phone with recorded communications replacing the link to our past that letter writing and photographs used provide. Certainly photos are taken more frequently and with much better equipment these days but are being valued a lot less. What happened before is of less importance to us that it was to our ancestors. I talk to my grandmother and she always likes to bring up her nursing days before the war in England and mention friends she had and what became of them. I talk about what I did yesterday and my plans for the future. An 80 year difference in importance.

Quote of the day: “This I regard as history’s highest function, to let no worthy action be uncommemorated, and to hold out the reprobation of posterity as a terror to evil words and deeds” – Tacitus

 

Leave a Reply

