Project 365 – 28th Sept 2010

Posted: September 28, 2010 in Project 365
Tags: , , , ,

Day 240 – Morning Train

Ah the good ole illegal train picture, risking my freedom (and enduring the odd dirty look) to defiantly capture Sydney life! Now hopefully there isn’t anything in that picture that would aid and abet potential terrorists. I won’t go on again about my opposition to some of the ridiculous photographic policies that are out there but I have been reading up on some street photography tips that has made me more motivated to take pictures. One of the tips was to look like you belong, like there is nothing suspicious about you and repeat to yourself positive affirmations about belonging there. I thought to myself but I do believe that. I really believe in the importance of street photographers, I believe people who dedicate a lifetime to it can produce maybe one, maybe two or even more photographs that will be important to the world in a time when we’ll be long gone (unless they invent an anti-aging mechanism in the next 50 years!).

I think its important to have photos of reality, where people are natural in their everyday environment. I find sometimes its hard to get this with friends or family. For one they observe a lot quicker when you have a camera and know, in my case, that I’m likely to use it! It changes their expression from the normal one that accompanies whatever they are doing, to one where they are over concerned about what they will look like and too conscious of putting forward their ‘best’ face. On the street its a lot easier to just observe and record without being noticed, and generally if someone does notice you can usually take a few shots before they change their expression and/or position.

And what better place to take pictures than on trains, they are, a sometimes frustrating, part of most of our everyday lives. A necessary evil maybe even and an interesting study of people lost in their own world. I believe its important to record these types of moments. Now I just need to go photoshop out the part of the photo where it gives instructions to terrorists on how to hate,  how to live inhumanly and how to aquire the need to instill panic and fear in our society. I might be a while…

Quote of the day: “Art is to me the glorification of the human spirit, and as such it is the cultural documentation of the time in which it is produced” – Hans Hofmann

 

Leave a Reply

