Project 365 – 11th Sept 2010

Posted: September 11, 2010 in Project 365
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Day 223 – By the Sea

Something occurred to me today, I often try remember what my day was like while on the computer and with my memory I often get stuck. I try to check my diary but sometimes I’m hopeless at updating it, especially when I’m busy. I find that the only way I tend to remember is through photos. Like I was looking at the blank page on my diary today trying to remember day 223 or the 11th Sept 2010 and the only entry I had was ‘Raffles Open Day’. It wasn’t until I saw this photo that I remembered I had gone down to the Harbour after the open day to take photos for my assignment, which had made me late for a bbq party at ours to celebrate our cleaning of the back yard. Which I subsequently left to go see the Swans match at the Alexandria before getting a lift in a shopping trolley back again to play beer pong! After that it was a mad trip with the football girls up the road to the Zanzi bar. The only reason I have a vivid memory of the rest of the day? Because about 100 photos of the night made it onto Facebook!

I have to think though what kind of night was it really? It seemed fairly mad in the photos but they were just one person’s vision of the moments that needed recording. As it turned out, the mad moments. However I saw a video at the MCA recently that showed rather ordinary moments of someone’s life in their house. It rarely even showed the person whose life it was but I remember how beautiful the video was, how simple and how true. Anyway that has inspired me to record events in a different type of way, a way in which we can appreciate the ordinary in our lives. Mad behaviour can be fun to take photos of and look back at but constant reflection on it can give you a different memory from what actually occurred. I’m not altogether convinced that the beauty of moments always come from the hysteria and madness that we remember but sometimes from the quiet and calm that enables us to enjoy it.

Quote 1 of the day: “Memory… is the diary that we all carry about with us” – Oscar Wilde

Quote 2 of the day: “So long as the memory of certain beloved friends lives in my heart, I shall say that life is good” – Helen Keller

Leave a Reply

