Project 365 – 11th July 2010

Posted: July 11, 2010 in Project 365
Tags: , , , , ,

Day 161 – Team Spain!

I’m going to skip ahead a little today and do the update for the 11th before I finish the previous days. This photo was actually taken on the 12th of July in Australia but of a live moment from the 11th in Johannesburg, where, really, the party was at!

Because Ireland are not very likely to win any sort of World Cup, at least in my lifetime, I’m claiming my Spanish heritage today! My brother did a DNA test  a while back to see where our ancestors come from and it came back as Spain. This being despite my long-held belief that our surname, and therefore ancestors, came from Scandinavia. I feel it could be right though, most of Scandinavia is freezing, and I hate the cold! Spain is a much better prospect, especially now they’ve won the World Cup! I might just wear red and yellow for the day!

The photo is from SBS’s broadcast of the final. A final I actually woke up for, then fell asleep until 5 minutes before the only goal! Good timing I reckon! I took a few photos of the tv screen but found this one the most interesting. Puyol goes right up to the camera and kisses the Spanish flag. He sees a cameraman, camera and possibly his own reflection but on the other side of the screen is the rest of the world all sharing in his moment. He’s communicating with us but I’m sure his thoughts and far removed from that fact. I’d love to see the photo from the photographer behind him to confirm the scene that he’s facing but maybe sometimes the interesting thing is we can only speculate and never really know, the same as we’ll never really know what it was like for him to exist in that moment of his life.

Anyway ¡Viva España!

Quote of the day: A world community can exist only with world communication, which means something more than extensive short-wave facilities scattered; about the globe. It means common understanding, a common tradition, common ideas, and common ideals – Robert M. Hutchins

Leave a Reply

