Project 365 – 4th July 2010

Posted: July 4, 2010 in Project 365
Tags: ,

Day 154 – Shadows

A shadow is an area where direct light from a light source cannot reach due to obstruction by an object. It occupies all of the space behind an opaque object with light in front of it. The cross section of a shadow is a two-dimensional silhouette, or reverse projection of the object blocking the light.

An astronomical object casts because human-visible shadows when its apparent magnitude is equal or lower than -4. Currently the only astronomical objects able to produce visible shadows on Earth are the sun, the moon and, in the right conditions, the planets of Mercury and Venus.

Here’s the chorus of a song I heard years ago, I think it was the theme song to the TV programme Charmed.

In the Shadows – The Rasmus

I’ve been watching
I’ve been waiting
In the shadows all my time
I’ve been searching
I’ve been living
For tomorrows all my life


Leave a Reply

