Project 365 – 1st July 2010

Posted: July 1, 2010 in Project 365
Tags: , , , ,

Day 151

Another day, another puppy picture! I’ve been chained to the computer in the last few days editing and I guess because the dog is practically the only moving, living thing that’s been with me while I work she’s slightly more interesting to photograph. It has actually got me thinking about the various dynamics that a photo with a moving person, animal or object has compared to a photo with static elements. I suppose either or the two can be the opposite of what they suggest to be, a photo of a person can end up looking flat whereas some food photography looks absolutely alive, despite not moving.

I sometimes think I prefer the challenge of photographing movement, hence why football was chosen for my photojournalism project. However it is usually more difficult to make stationary subjects interesting, you need to think a lot more rather than just acting on impulse and being a little bit reactionary. I also think you need to know a lot more, about symmetry and how we perceive movement, in things that move and also how that affects our perception of movement in things that don’t move. Photography is a great study of this because a photograph, or even a photographic image on a computer screen, is a motionless ‘thing’ irregardless of what its subject matter is.

Quote of the day: Art is always and everywhere the secret confession, and at the same time the immortal movement of its time – Karl Marx

Leave a Reply

