Project 365 – 24th June 2010

Posted: June 24, 2010 in Project 365
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Day 144 – Team Julia

Well I guess everyone in Australia knows what happened today Julia Gillard became the Prime Minister in place of Kevin Rudd, being the first woman to hold the position. Not that it really matters to me because I don’t get a vote anyway, but I must admitt I was fascinated by developments. I guess because, in my opinion, Abbott would be a terrible person to have in charge of a country and from what I’ve seen of Kevin Rudd recently he has come across really negatively in press conferences, like he’s about to burst in anger at someone. He definitely didn’t inspire confidence in me that he would lead Labour to win the next election.

Gillard on the other hand seems well capable of taking charge, that first press conferences for example, the journo’s didn’t get a look in! Between that and the interview with her parents I was well impressed, plus since Ryan Giggs I’ve always had a liking of Welsh people! I’ve found the reaction to the way she came into power interesting, maybe its because that’s being happening in Ireland since I can remember but, isn’t that politics?? Maybe the difference lies in the fact that in Ireland we have the power to vote for our head of state (i.e. the President) so we don’t mind letting the parties have their own leadership battles and expect that the polititions, who know the individuals involved more personally, will make a more informed choice than we could for the person who should lead the party, and ultimately the country, if they get into power.

As for her being the first woman as Prime Minister, ya it’s great to think we are finally moving on from the past yet still remembering that it wasn’t all that long ago. It wasn’t that long ago we didn’t get a vote, had unconsidered expectations. It wasn’t that long ago that I was advised on leaving school not to join the army that I’d only end up doing the cooking and things, such was the opinion of a woman’s role! And it was very recently that one of my lecturers told us that we shouldn’t laugh at the feminist movement, burning bras, not shaving bodily hair and all the stuff that we do scorn now, now we don’t have to think about doing things like that. Because if it wasn’t for them we wouldn’t be where we are and he meant it quite literally, women weren’t allowed attend University.

Now for equality in other areas!

Quote of the day: I will feel equality has arrived when we can elect to office women who are as incompetent as some of the men who are already there – Maureen Reagan

Leave a Reply

