Project 365 – 17th June 2010

Posted: June 17, 2010 in Project 365
Tags: ,

Day 136 – Speak the Speech

Speak the speech, I pray you, as I pronounced it to
you, trippingly on the tongue. But if you mouth it, as many
of our players do, I had as lief the town-crier spoke my
lines. Nor do not saw the air too much with your hand,
thus, but use all gently; for in the very torrent, tempest,
and, as I may say, whirlwind of your passion, you must
acquire and beget a temperance that may give it smoothness.
O, it offends me to the soul to hear a robustious
periwig-pated fellow tear a passion to tatters, to very rags,
to split the ears of the groundlings, who, for the most part,
are capable of nothing but inexplicable dumb-shows and
noise. I would have such a fellow whipped for o’erdoing
Termagant. It out-Herods Herod. Pray you avoid it.

– William Shakespeare

I like this little speech, it seems to say to me ‘be calm’! It comes from the play Hamlet where Hamlet speaks to one of the actors about to take to the stage in a play he has concocted to observe his family’s reactions.

Leave a Reply

