Project 365 – 27th May 2010

Posted: May 27, 2010 in Project 365
Tags: , , ,

Day 116 – Lunchtime

Today’s title could be because the picture is of a trio taking a lunchtime break at Town Hall, or that I ate so much today that the day was like an everlasting lunchtime! I was in the city to continue my photojournalism assignment and came across these rail workers on the steps. I thought their body language was interesting and I stood there for a while trying to work out their relationship!

Anyway I’m a little behind in days so I’m gonna sign this one off with a recipe and quote.

Seafood Risotto

Ingredients
1 large or two small leeks
2 cloves garlic
600g marinara mix (mixed seafood)
125 grams snow peas
125 grams butter
2 cups risotto or basmati rice
1/2 cup dry white wine
4 3/4 cups fish stock (or chicken)
handful fresh basil
ground pepper to taste

Method
Slice white parts of leeks and crush the garlic, then cook them in 60 grams of the butter, until the leeks are soft. Add the seafood and snow peas and cook for about 4 minutes. Remove from the heat.
Melt the rest of the butter in a large saucepan then add the rice, stirring for 2 minutes. Add wine and cook unitl it is
absorbed. Stir 1/2 cup of boiling stock into the rice and cook stirring until it is absorbed. Continue this last step until it is all absorbed. Then add the seafood mixture, basil and pepper and cook another 4 minutes.

Quote of the day: “I bought a doughnut and they gave me a receipt for the doughtnut… I don’t need a receipt for the doughnut. I give you money and you give me the doughnut, end of transaction. We don’t need to bring ink and paper into this. I can’t imagine a scenario that I would have to prove that I bought a doughnut. To some skeptical friend, ‘Don’t even act like I didn’t get that doughnut, I’ve got the documentation right here… It’s in my file at home. …Under “D”.’ – Mitch Hedberg

Leave a Reply

