Project 365 – 9th May 2010

Posted: May 9, 2010 in Project 365
Tags: , , , , ,

Day 98 – 100 Years

“All photographs are there to remind us of what we forget. In this — as in other ways — they are the opposite of paintings. Paintings record what the painter remembers. Because each one of us forgets different things, a photo more than a painting may change its meaning according to who is looking at it.” – John Berger

It’s funny but so many of the photos I took when I was younger were of sports teams nights out, actually nights out in general! So its not really surprising that 1/3 of the way through my photography degree and almost 1/3 of the way through this 365 project I’d post up a picture of the same. Above are 3 of my footie teammates and as I prefer to have it, they are all unaware of the photo being taken. Not necessarily to catch a glimpse of people in their ‘natural state’ but as a reminder of how they projected themselves in that moment.

I read a book a few months ago by John Berger and to say the least he has a brilliant mind. His quote above is interesting and makes you contemplate how otherw would view that same picture above. It’s difficult sometimes to get outside your own mind and interpertation, especially for me as I took the photo, I was in that exact position and quite obviously it brings back a clear memory of that moment and that night. But I think it is a worthwhile exercise to do to better understand our world.

What would you think of the photo if it was the first photo you’d ever seen? A moment frozen in time. 3 people communicating but the viewer isn’t privvy to the identity of the recipient of that communication. I feel we never understand people, we can only understand why we make assumptions and speculate on how accurate those assumptions may be. Even when you think you know what the various gestures and symbols in any situation mean, it’s quite possible you could be totally wrong. When you look at how someone else might interpet the same senario you realise there are indefinite possibilites to the understanding that can be reached from human communication, and really, could you ever fully know which is correct?

I think its one of the reasons I’ve always played team sports as opposed to individual ones, the team dynamics. How people interact.  They’re just so fascinating and still, even sober, in the company of the late night bourbon and beer drinkers, one can have absolutely no idea of whats going on! Maybe I need to get off this detox!

Leave a Reply

