Project 365 – 3rd May 2010

Posted: May 3, 2010 in Project 365
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Day 92 – Tryin to Catch The Rain

“It’s a bittersweet symphony this life, you’re a slave to the money then you die”

So much for my plan of heading to the beach for some sun and sea air today. I got the bus to Coogee with the sun splitting the rocks in Newtown only to arrive to an almost thunderstorm! Typical! I had to dive under cover at the picnic table area and sat for about 25 mins watching the seagulls standing about and splashing in the puddles on the grass, what strange creatures! They didn’t seem bothered by the pelting rain!

Anyhow the rain did eventually stop and I got to look out at the sea and contemplate life so it wasn’t altogether a wasted journey! I’ve been a bit slack with the 365 project in the last week, I guess possibly I’ve had my mind on something that I’m not going to write about here, so it’s been difficult coming up with other stuff that I want to talk about. I did know also it was inevitable the motivation for the project would eventually wane and I think that point was reached last week. However, Miley Cyrus, of all people has been inspiring me, or more accurately I should say Jessie Alexander and John Mabe, who wrote the song ‘It’s The Climb” about their struggles making it in the music industry.

Its the kind of song thats great to listen to when you start thinking life might resemble a bittersweet symphony, and as I’m a fan of expressing myself through the words of others I’ve put some of the lyrics and the song below:

I can almost see it
That dream I am dreaming
But there’s a voice inside my head saying
“You’ll never reach it”

Every step I’m taking
Every move I make feels
Lost with no direction
My faith is shaking

But I gotta keep trying
Gotta keep my head held high

There’s always gonna be another mountain
I’m always gonna wanna make it move
Always gonna be a uphill battle
Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose

Ain’t about how fast I get there
Ain’t about what’s waiting on the other side
It’s the climb

Leave a Reply

