Project 365 – 11th April 2010

Posted: April 11, 2010 in Project 365
Tags: , , , , , ,

Day 70 – Sunday Bloody Sunday

My ear drums must be a bit bloody at the moment, I’m just back from hearing The Baddies at the Botany View Hotel. Not a bad band, not exactly Celine Dion but they did a lovely punk rock version of the Graduation Song, at 200 million decibels. Believe me 200 million decibels is loud! (correction after emailing them the song was actually Pachelbel’s Canon in D writtem around 1694 by Johann Pachelbel, my bad!)

Now I would do a page long analysis on people on their differing tastes in music but I’m shattered, and I’ve been analysing art all day and now my brain hurts. I mean for flip sake, can’t it just all be some random paints some dude, or dudette, threw on a canvas, does it all have to mean something! Normally I’m all for the deeper meaning, but now I just wanna sit down and watch some brain-dead tv!

Anyway our lecture told us a few weeks back about this guy called Marcel Proust, who used be great fun and into drinking and cavorting, and one day he decided to lock himself away in his house for the rest of his life to write books. Now despite my recent detox I doubt I’ll be following in his footsteps! He did leave us with this quote though:

“An artist has no need to express his thought directly in his work for the latter to reflect its quality; it has even been said that the highest praise of God consists in the denial of Him by the atheist who finds creation so perfect that it can dispense with a creator”

Oh more photos of The Baddies at http://www.keating18.com/#/gallery/music/

Leave a Reply

