Project 365 – 7th Apr 2010

Posted: April 7, 2010 in Project 365
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Day 66 – Fenced In

I was cycling through Sydney Uni tonight on the way to AFL jersey preso when I saw this photo opportunity. Unfortunately I didn’t have my tripod or it would’ve been sharper but it’s definately one of the styles of photography I like, dark and moody! I’ll have to try getting the camera out around the night architecture more often before it gets much colder.

Anyway I’m not going to go off on a philosophical tangent as usual as I have to get a picture ready for class tomorrow, one that we like and can talk about. I’m thinking a Caravaggio or Rembrandt, both users of a technique called chiarascuro, which is basically strong contrasts between light and shade. On one hand it allows pictures and paintings to be more three dimensional and to have great mystery. On another hand it reminds me of the days before electricity and the modernitity of life. Oh, except I didn’t live in the days before electricity so I guess I’m thinking of days when the power failed and we all sat around imagining what the days without electricity were like! As I remember there was a certain peacefulness and stillness about the place thats so nice, but also so rare today.

I guess the only thing that comes close in a big city these days is Earth Hour, but I totally forgot about it this year and was watching the Swans match with lights and volume blaring. Oops sorry earth!

Anyway I better go pick a picture!

Quote of the day: “There is not enough darkness in all the world to put out the light of even one small candle” – Robert Alden

Leave a Reply

