Project 365 – 28th Mar 2010

Posted: March 28, 2010 in Project 365
Tags: , , , ,

Day 56 – Gosford

So a 4.45am start saw me head off to Gosford this morning for the annual pre-season gaelic football and hurling tournament. I played a few matches, hurt a few limbs, got a bit sunburnt and dehydrated, oh and we lost the final, not a great day overall. A interesting sober bus journey later, with 15 or so drunken hurlers and uncomfortable seats got me home about 10.30pm, feeling like I’d been run over by a truck!

Funny thing happened, my housemate was asked how did we get on in the tournament and she said “oh we got to the final”. My reaction was “we lost”. I was told I must be a glass half empty kind of person, in truth I just think the glass is too big for what’s in it! With regards to sport I don’t think there’s anything worse than loosing a final, because to play in one you have to mentally build yourself up with the thoughts that you can win. Otherwise there’s no point in even stepping on the pitch. To have that hope smashed, to me, is just the most gutting feeling. It doesn’t even just apply to sport, it applies to everything and anything one hopes for. Sport just plays out the smashing in a more crueler concise structure.

With the heat and unflattering sun I didn’t get out to take many photos. I did take a few of one of the St. Pats goalkeeper’s hurley from behind the net. What I like about it is the interesting way my f/2.8 lens deals with the goal net. It’s so out of focus that it’s barely noticeable and can only be seen in little waves at the top of the photo. Nothing else really interesting or deep about it I’m afraid!

Quote of the day:

Father Dougal: Didn’t you tell me once that Father Jack had a trial for Liverpool?
Father Ted: No… no, he was on trial, in Liverpool.

Also:

Father Ted: More bad news, Dougal. I’ve just been speaking to Father Ned Fitzmorris. He tripped on a paving stone and one of his kneecaps fell off. There’s no way around it…I’m going to have to put him in goal.

Leave a Reply

