Project 365 – 23rd Mar 2010

Posted: March 23, 2010 in Project 365
Tags: , , ,

Day 51 – Significado

Since the beginning of time, well I presume anyway since I wasn’t around at the beginning of time, our civilisation has searched for the meaning of life. I mean do a google search and see how many quotes, books, debates, songs and works of art have been dedicated to the subject. How often does it even occupy ones own mind?

But it’s not just meaning in our life is it? It can be meaning in everything! I guess here I’m referring specifically to art. How important is meaning? How important is it to understand the meaning or the meaning that person who created the work of art put into it, or is it simply a case of the art work being relevant merely if we can extract our own meaning? Does meaning give a certain truth to things and how important is truth to art? Photography was once thought to be truth as it shows exactly what it in a scene. However as time passed it became more apparent that photography could lie as much as any other medium depending on what the photographer choose to include or exclude in a scene and to what extent.

As for the picture above, well you can take a meaning from, you can relate it to something, you can guess if I had a meaning in mind when I set it up and edited, what elements I used and why I placed them where I did. Or you can believe I didn’t intend any deeper meaning, that its artistically good or bad, or just plain weird!

Funny random quote of the day that has no relevance to the blog entry:

“He was an embittered atheist, the sort of atheist who does not so much disbelieve in God as personally dislike Him” – George Orwell

Leave a Reply

