Project 365 – 19th Mar 2010

Posted: March 19, 2010 in Project 365
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Day 47 – Sadness in Parting

Practical people want to expect the unexpected and creative people want to do the unexpected! Both are clouded in an eternal mystery that no one can close to understanding. There is very little art that doesn’t come from something that has already existed (well according to one theory, and my college lecturer!) and there are very few ways of predicting where our lives will take us, no matter how planned out you think you may be.

I mean who would’ve predicted the Irish economic collapse, the death of Princess Diana, the rise of Hitler, various world events that would’ve had people laughing at you if you dared suggest their imminence. My life has always been unexpected. Aged 15 I never expected I would someday look back at my school years and be glad the experience made me who I am. Aged 16 I never expected to play camogie or football again, I ended up playing both for Munster. Aged 18 I never thought I would love my college years the way I did. I never thought Killeedy would win a county title, even 5 minutes before we won the first of 4! I thought I would come to Australia in 2005 for no more than 3 months, I’ve now spent 3 years. I look at life now and no matter where it seems to be leading, for good or bad, I can smile and think you just can’t predict it at all.

I never expected to find myself in Melbourne today, and I’m sure my grandmother never expected to watch her brother’s funeral on a computer screen at the other side of the world. Death is unavoidable, and sometimes expected, but always fraught with emotion that can be an essential part of the grieving process. Maybe funerals are reminders of our own mortality, or an event where we ponder our connection with a person who is no longer as we are, alive. Whatever the psychology its hard not to be affected, its hard to feel the pain of the loved ones whose lives will now be uprooted from a happy daily routine. No matter how old, how young, how sick or how tragic death is, it can never truly be expected, conceived or fully prepared for, and neither can life.

Quote of the Day:

“When you were born, you cried and the world rejoiced.
Live your life so that when you die, the world cries and you rejoice.”

Leave a Reply

