Project 365 – 11th Mar 2010

Posted: March 12, 2010 in Project 365
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Day 39 – The Russians didn’t take the soup

Watched a silent film in college today called ‘The Battleship Potemkin’. Apparently one of the best ever made. That wasn’t what interested me. Irish people take note; the Russians didn’t take the soup!

Anyway just thought I should share that. Back to the picture from today. I’m telling ye lads this bus was flying it, maybe I should apply to the RTA to become a freelance, mobile speed camera? Still it got me thinking. There was a philosopher once upon a time, whose name or gender I can’t recall, and one of his/her beliefs was that we shouldn’t travel faster than we can run. I can’t remember why either, maybe I should’ve picked a different topic to write about today?

Hmmm yes, I’ll just copy and paste a poem instead:

Questions of Travel – Elizabeth Bishop

“Is it lack of imagination that makes us come
to imagined places, not just stay at home?
Or could Pascal have been not entirely right
about just sitting quietly in one’s room?

Continent, city, country, society:
the choice is never wide and never free.
And here, or there . . . No. Should we have stayed at home,
wherever that may be?”

Quote of the day:

“Like all great travellers, I have seen more than I remember, and remember more than I have seen”
– Benjamin Disraeli

Leave a Reply

