Project 365 – 9th Mar 2010

Posted: March 9, 2010 in Project 365
Tags: , , , , , ,

Day 37 – We are all deserving of love

I guess I’ll have to go on a philosophical tangent here today, this picture does have a meaning for me. I took it during a 30 second window at Central Railway Station, waiting on the bus, well actually the bus was technically waiting for me as I never noticed it pulling up! If my friend didn’t alert me to the waiting bus I’d probably still be there!

The picture isn’t anything special, it’s over-exposed, has non-atmospheric flare, a crocked clock tower and maybe even an over-done HDR toning! Tough sh1t photo critics! To me its about looking onwards and upwards, a ‘sun-bursting-through-the-clouds’ outlook on life. Its also a kind of a metaphoric ‘look-up’ to all those who inspire me in my life, family, friends, acquaintances, and even those i don’t know, or don’t know me! Some days I guess it hits you in the most unexpected ways how people can inspire you, people you don’t even know and yet it has a profound effect on your heart and make you look at the day and the future a little brighter!

Anyway this brings me to my ‘quote of the day’, it relates to something one of my college lecturers talks about a lot, how it is a very dangerous thing to believe any one culture is better than another, and he points to the example of Hitler and the Jews, or even the plight of the Australian Aboriginals, to prove just why. And there are plenty of less extreme examples too that affect people’s lives daily.

Quote of the day: “I would like to thank Helga D (her mother)…. for reminding her daughters that there is no race, no religion, no class system, no colour, nothing, no sexual orientation that makes us better than anyone else” – Sandra Bullock accepting her Academy Award, 8th Mar 2010

Thank you for inspiring me today

Leave a Reply

