Project 365 – 16th Feb 2010

Posted: February 16, 2010 in Project 365
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Day 16 – Back to College!

Ah man, I’ve been looking forward to going back to college ever since I got my timetable! And it didn’t disappoint! Our first class, well lets ignore the fact I missed yesterday’s class in order to work, was Visual Communication where we learned bits of the sensual and perceptual theories of VC, the history of camouflage clothing and watched a fascinating documentary on how our brain processes what we see and sense. A lot of the study was done on people who have brain damage and how certain processing areas of the brain work for them and more don’t, and what that can teach us. The conclusion was that how we perceive the world is a lot more complex than just our brains processing what we see through our eyes. I’d explain more but I don’t have the time! Go google!

Apart from the knowledge aspect I look forward to the structure that it provides, even if it’s a pretty rigid structure with class, work, study and a bit of training! It kinda feels like I’m making the most of my days I guess. I do wonder where I’ll find the time for this blog, even thinking about it I’ll have gone through 4 college terms by the time this blog ends! I guess thats why its called a challenge!

Anyway pancakes are calling me from the kitchen and after that I’m gonna have a bit of a think about my lental resolutions so better go log off!

The quote of today is attributed to a genius of a graphic artist we had to look up for college called Maurits Cornelis Escher:

” To have peace with this peculiar life; to accept what we do not understand; to wait calmly for what awaits us, you have to be wiser than I am”

Oh and the picture is the view (slightly edited) on the train passing over the Harbour Bridge on the way to college at North Sydney!

Leave a Reply

