2nd Feb 2010

Posted: February 2, 2010 in Project 365
Tags: , , , , , ,

Day 2: Back to Training

After 6 months of injury I eventually made it back to a proper on-field football training tonight! I have to say I was dreading it all day and wondering would I ever regain my motivation for sport, regardless of the benefits. I eventually made myself go, with a bit of self-convincing that I needed to get out of the house to get some photos for this blog, and I must admit I felt so happy I did after. It was great to meet up with all the new people, catch up with the old heads and even just kick the football around, but also for the injection of positivity that it provided.

While improving my photography is the No. 1 aim for 2010, I do think sport can be a help and not a distraction to the same. It improves you in body and mind and pushes you to limits that don’t exist in a lot of ‘normal’, ‘every-day’ life (even just watching on tv now, ‘Solo’ – Andrew McAuley’s attempt to cross the Tasman, reminds me of that). And improving and challenging yourself is central to improving your photography. As Ernst hass said “The limitations of photography are in yourself, for what we see is only what we are”

Anyway, randomly someone asked me last week what kind of life lessons does sport teach you?  Well one from this evening: Persistence. It may seem strange saying that after watching Solo, and giving up can be tempting, but sometimes we don’t know how much we want or need something until we persist and actually achieve it.

2010 resolution #1: Persist in the small things than lead to achieving goals

RIP Andrew

Leave a Reply

